Home > Editing, Writing > I Should Be Less Surprised Than I Am

I Should Be Less Surprised Than I Am

I fished out an old manuscript, because I am currently desperate for something to send to an editor wondering if I’ve got anything more romance-ish, less erotica-ish. I remembered really liking the basic story. I also remembered tossing it in the metaphorical drawer because it was boring me, and even five years ago I liked writing sex scenes more than I liked writing sweet romance. (This was well before the e-pub/e-reader thing exploded, and before insane sales of e-reader erotica proved that lots more people will read it if they can do it without anyone seeing them do it. Kind of like actual… it.) Anyway, I’ve actually been thinking about that old thing. So I went fishing.

And holy cow, I was a terrible writer.

I went through all my old abandoned stories. There is a definite turning point where my work went from sadass to badass, but it’s not at the point where I started writing erotica as I thought. If you read the first post on this blog, you will note that I thought that two days ago.

But no, it’s the point where I purchased and read Self-Editing For Fiction Writers. I’m not kidding. I checked my spreadsheet from the year where the change occurred (remember, books you buy to further your craft are tax-deductible), and the month I bought it is when the manuscripts stopped sucking.

Please bear in mind – at the time that I bought this book, I’d been selling non-fiction pretty consistently. There really is a world of difference between how you edit the two types of writing.

Renni Browne, Dave King, if you’re out there: You are an entire barrel of awesome sauce.

Categories: Editing, Writing Tags: ,
  1. June 17, 2013 at 12:46 AM

    My spouse and i got absolutely fortunate Raymond could finish up
    his investigations using the precious recommendations he
    got when using the web pages. It is now and again perplexing to simply continually be giving
    for free tricks which usually many others could have been
    selling. And we remember we now have the blog owner to be grateful to because of that.

    The most important explanations you made, the simple website menu,
    the friendships you will help to foster – it’s got everything terrific, and it’s really aiding our son and us imagine that this situation is awesome, and that’s seriously mandatory. Thanks for all!

  2. July 12, 2013 at 6:23 AM

    I as well as my buddies were found to be looking at the excellent guides from
    your website and so instantly I got a horrible suspicion I had not thanked the website owner for them.

    Most of the people came absolutely thrilled to read all of them and now have simply been
    using them. Thanks for turning out to be simply accommodating and for considering this form of ideal things most people
    are really wanting to be informed on. My personal honest apologies for not expressing appreciation to
    you sooner.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

