Home > Writing > Friday Flail

Friday Flail

It’s like I’ve forgotten how to speak English. My poor story. I type a sentence, hate it, type another sentence, hate it so much that I start to web surf, freak out about procrastination, type a sentence, hate it, rewrite a sentence, hate it.

Stephen King says, very soothingly, that if that happens to you, you shouldn’t worry about it. When you go back to do your cleanup in the next draft, you won’t know the difference between the stuff that poured out effortlessly and the stuff that had to be dragged from your brain kicking and screaming.

I don’t know. I just named the character (who is trying to tempt my heroine out of her marriage) “Eduardo.” Help! I’m stuck in a pool of cliches and I can’t get out!

Categories: Writing
  1. adam
    March 16, 2010 at 7:07 PM

    Lol. Change it to Eddy, age him by 5 years and make him slightly chubby but confident as hell. If it doesn’t work, come back and change it again… at least you’ll have written something.

  2. March 17, 2010 at 8:13 AM

    That’s… that’s brilliant. Thanks 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

