Home > Writing > A Writer’s Mental State

A Writer’s Mental State

I was doinking around on Absolute Write instead of writing last night, because my story sucks. I still met my word goal for the night, but those words were all boring. The story is boring. No one could ever possibly want to read it. Fortunately, there’s a chart for this.

The AW poster said this chart is courtesy of a science fiction author named Maureen McHugh. I am now going to purchase one of her books because A) science fiction author, B) I owe her one now.

  1. cheyanneyoung
    March 30, 2010 at 8:46 AM

    I feel the exact same way, almost all the time, and as long as I meet my word count goal I’ll feel like I deserve to lurk on AW all night =)

  2. March 31, 2010 at 7:09 AM

    Laugh – that’s the problem! I COULD hang out there all night. It’s like a big sticky trap.

  3. April 6, 2010 at 6:57 PM

    AW is a lifeline.

    And because I’m too lazy to comment twice, but I’ve just read your post on Steampunk–have you read Gail Carriger’s “Soulless” and the sequel “Changeless” which is meant to be more definitely steampunk? I found Soulless an intriguing intro to Steampunk where some other stuff (me, I don’t name names, gutless coward that I am) turned me off.

  4. April 7, 2010 at 7:30 AM

    I have both of those on my TBR list! I’m looking forward to them. And to be fair I should do a followup on my steampunk post – I found some stories in that anthology that rocked my socks.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

